Every year about this time millions of people have already flopped on their New Year’s resolutions. I think this is due to people making broad, sweeping declarations that aren’t easily measured or obtained. Saying that you are going to be healthy in 2017 is great, but how can you truly measure health? Weight loss, body fat, eating a certain way? My point is how will you be motivated to stick to your goal if you don’t exactly see what you are aiming for. Two personalities that I believe have the right idea when it comes to goal setting and which I base my goals on are Dave Ramsey and Michael Hyatt. Below I’ve outlined the 3 basic steps that I use and hope you join me in achieving goals in this new year.

  1. Begin with the end in mind – You must know exactly what you are aiming at in order to hit your goal. Once you know where you want to go, you can work backwards to determine how to get there. For example, I would like to be 175 pounds by the end of the year. If I am 185 now, I then can figure out that I need to lose 1 pound a month in order to make that happen. Taking small bites makes it mentally easier to work towards your goal.
  2. The goal must be specific and measurable – Define exactly what and by when you are trying to accomplish the goal, not a broad idea like I want to make a lot of money in 2017. Instead try, I want to make $100,000 after taxes by December 31, 2017.
  3. Write it down – This one is the simplest, yet the most important step – take the time to hand write the goals and keep them somewhere visible. I know everyone wants to keep things on the computer or on the notes app of their phone, but I promise there is something different about hand writing each goal.

goals

 

